PlayShakespeare.com: The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Any other musicians here?

Any other musicians here? 3 years 2 months ago #5254

A quick note of introduction as I'm new here. I'm a resident of Austin, Texas and a longtime professional musician who discovered theatre and Shakespeare relatively late in my career. On my fairly well-fed resume are positions as former musical director and resident composer for Kentucky Shakespeare Festival, the former Austin Shakespeare Festival and currently hold the same post for the Prague Shakespeare Festival in the Czech Republic. Just returned from an ambitious tour with Prague Shakes doing "Lear" and "As You Like It" in repertory that began in Houston and ended in Prague. Will be launching a business venture involving music for Shakespeare productions later this year.

Any other musicians/composer resident, I'd love to exchange a few words and ideas. Thanks, y'all....
Last Edit: 3 years 2 months ago by MusicForShakespeare.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Any other musicians here? 2 years 11 months ago #5406

• Ron Severdia
  • Scholar
  • Thank you received: 22
A belated welcome. I just met Guy Roberts on my travels to Prague this week so I have a frame of reference for your activities there. :)

Have you done the music for the Merchant of Venice before? A song is sung in 3.2 when Bassanio is selecting a casket and it's open to a certain amount of interpretation who sings it. We've been discussing the pros and cons and just wondered if you have had any experience with MoV.

Re: Any other musicians here? 2 years 11 months ago #5408

Hey Ron:

Thanks for the response and I hope you enjoyed Prague as much as I do.

No experience with Merchant of Venice. Yet. MoV is high on my list of plays to write for. I'd be interested in hearing about any production of the play that you're involved with.

Cheers,

Ed