PlayShakespeare.com: The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource
  Tuesday, 13 November 2007
  21 Replies
  10.3K Visits
  Subscribe
Any ideas on significant issues Shakespeare is asking the audience to wrestle with in King Lear?
I am suppossed to discuss his success in causing these issues to come into sharp focus.

What does Shakespeare achieve in juxtaposing the Lear and Gloucester families?

Why must Gloucester lose his eyes?

Why must Lear go "mad"?

Why must Cordelia die?

Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated thanks.
16 years ago
·
It has been brought to my attention that my posts seem like I am wanting my homework done for me. I just want to let other users know that I am not wanting my homework done for me! I am a home schooled student and I am just trying to get a discussion going on some of the questions I am given to think about and analyzie after each play. I have my own opinion and would just like to hear someone elses opinion and hopefully be able to have a meaningful discussion that allows us all to think about what Shakespeare wanted his audience to learn. I am also looking to enrich my learning experience while studing Shakespeare. So if anyone would like to reply I will post again so we can start a discussion, as you will bounce ideas off eachother.
16 years ago
·
Here is what i have been able to come up with:
Significant issues blindness and materialism (caring more about outward appearance than real meaning or true character)

He shows us the parrell between the two men. Their seeming blindness, their foolish decisions, the way their children betray them, as well as the way the rejected children come to their fathers' rescue when they are needed most.