PlayShakespeare.com: The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource
  Sunday, 03 February 2008
  7 Replies
  4.9K Visits
  Subscribe
Recently I saw Al Pacino's 1996 documentary Looking for Richard on DVD and really enjoyed it. What do others here think of Pacino's efforts to bring Richard III to life?
Personally, I was not too thrilled with it. It was interesting to see the "average Joe's" take on Shakespeare and personal experience (or lack thereof), but I never felt that anything was really resolved. I think I would have preferred to see the actual performance in full than what actually ended up on film.
16 years ago
·
A friend of mine (who knows very little about Shakespeare) thought it was very good. Personally, I found it a bit boring, because it didn't really offer up anything I didn't know. But it's great as an introduction to Shakespeare.
15 years ago
·
As a theatre teacher I like the way it emphasized the "table work" and the importance of really understanding teh text before putting it on its feet. BUt I find the film over all boring and I don't buy Pacino as Richard at all.
15 years ago
·
A bit too extemporaneous by for me, Pacino while very talented came across as very novice about Shakespeare - several excellent acting vignettes from the cast, but I was embarrassed for Al, hunched up and stumbling around in regal armour, clearly ill-suited for the role; Richard, the warrior king, deserved better.

Regards, Chas
14 years ago
·
It seemed to me at points, that Pacino did not have a full understanding of the text. I was disappointed.

C.
14 years ago
·
I find it a good tool for reinforcement of some of the fundamentals that I teach in beginning classes. I wouldn't show it "cold" to new acting students, though.