PlayShakespeare.com: The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource
PlayShakespeare.com: The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Unique Shakespeare Scenes to Perform

Unique Shakespeare Scenes to Perform 4 years 3 months ago #6574

• Jessica M
  • Neophyte
I am a High School student. Every year in our theatre class, our director lets us perform any Shakespeare scene of our choosing. We then take all of our scenes and compile them into a show titled "A Night of Shakespeare". Last year, I performed Macbeth Act V scene i as Lady Macbeth. For those of you who don't know, this was her crazy scene most recognized from her line "Out, damned spot!". I had a blast performing this scene. One thing I really appreciated about this scene is that it stood out from everyone else's scenes.
Anyway, I am trying to find a new scene for next year. It has to have at least one female in it (me) and can have up 5 characters. Again, I am looking for a scene that stands out from many of the other scenes that are most performed by High school students. For example, I am not particularly interested in doing a scene where I confess my love for someone because everyone and their dog is going to end up performing something similar to that. Again, key word is unique. I would love to hear any ideas anyone has to contribute because the stuff I have looked at isn't interesting me. Also, if anyone has ideas on how to actually perform it (for example, he lets us put the scene in any time period we want, such as Romeo and Juliet performed in the Old West, or Hamlet in the style of Tim Burton) that would be awesome as well.
Thank you for your time and contribution!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Unique Shakespeare Scenes to Perform 4 years 3 months ago #6575

• Ron Severdia
  • Scholar
  • Thank you received: 23
There are a lot of options...