PlayShakespeare.com: The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource
  Wednesday, 13 February 2008
  22 Replies
  11K Visits
  Subscribe
I am a senior English teacher trying to teach Hamlet for the first time. I was using the Hamlet regained website, but got confused about the nightmare Hamlet has before Act II. Mr. Jordan makes a few brief references to it but I need more than that. The other senior English teachers are not believing that the text supports the idea that Hamlet had a nightmare about Ophelia. Can Mr. Jordan or someone else provide me some textual evidence to support this idea?

I am just now getting to Act II. The students are working on a quiz today on Act I.
I believe the nightmare Mr. Jordan is referring to what occurs between I, 5 and II, 2 when Hamlet mentions to R & G:

HAM. O God, I could be bounded in a nutshell, and count myself a king of infinite space—were it not that I have bad dreams.

The dream could possibly have been about Hamlet killing Claudius and he himself was killed in the process (especially if he's unsuccessful). He likely hasn't come to terms with sacrificing his own life until III, 3.

But I'm not sure one could make the case that his nightmare was about Ophelia.
...then again, you could just switch to Q2 (like the Arden edition) and this passage is deleted out... :)
16 years ago
·
BamaFlum - I don't envy you teaching Hamlet for the first time. I am concerned you are using the Hamlet regained site. I don't know where you live, but, if possible, I strongly suggest getting a copy of Shakespeare After All by Marjorie Garber. It's in paperback. Garber devotes a chapter to each play plus she provides good suggestions for further reading and lists film versions for many plays. There is also a new book, Looking for Hamlet by Marvin W. Hunt, which is good. You might find Shakespeare For Dummies (awful title) worth your time. Even Cliff's Notes for Hamlet is better than Hamlet regained.