PlayShakespeare.com: The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: The Great Courses: William Shakespeare's Comedies, Histories

The Great Courses: William Shakespeare's Comedies, Histories 8 years 7 months ago #1837

• paulrobertwagner
  • Senior Player
Today I received a catalog from "The Great Courses," an outfit that makes available college and graduate level courses on tape, CD, and DVD. I've never used them before, but noticed they are currently having a 70% off sale on select courses, including William Shakespeare's Comedies, Histories and Tragedies. The Shakespeare course is a series of 36 half hour lectures on 16 of the Bard's plays by Professor Peter Saccio of Dartmouth College (and author of the book Shakespeare's English Kings). If I get it on CD or tape, I could listen it in the car during a long commute and enhance my knowledge of these plays.

Here's the relative link:

http://www.thegreatcourses.com/ttcx/Cou ... h+Language

I haven't ordered it yet, so feedback is appreciated. Thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

The Great Courses: William Shakespeare's Comedies, Histories 8 years 7 months ago #1845

• Tue Sorensen
  • Expert Player
I was quite impressed with Saccio's lectures, and subsequently even ordered his book "Shakespeare's English Kings: History, Chronicle and Drama". It's great value for money.

The Great Courses: William Shakespeare's Comedies, Histories 8 years 7 months ago #1847

• paulrobertwagner
  • Senior Player
sorensonian wrote:
I was quite impressed with Saccio's lectures, and subsequently even ordered his book "Shakespeare's English Kings: History, Chronicle and Drama". It's great value for money.

Sorensonian -- where and when did you hear him speak?

The Great Courses: William Shakespeare's Comedies, Histories 8 years 7 months ago #1850

• akfarrar
  • Professor
  • Thank you received: 1