The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource The Ultimate Free Shakespeare Resource Announces Falstaff Awards for 2012

William ShakespeareWilliam Shakespeare  
0   1   0   0   0
Falstaff Awards for Excellence in Shakespeare is pleased to announce the nominees and winners for the annual Falstaff Awards for 2012. With's international reach, reviewers worldwide have come together to honor the best in Shakespeare for the year of 2012. The Falstaff Awards recognize extraordinary achievement in the areas of Best Play, Best Director, Best Performance by a Male or Female Actor, among other performance and technical categories.

In 2012, the Shakespeare performance meme was As You Like It and several performances of such took multiple awards. The Public Theater's production of As You Like It garnered four awards this year for Best Director (Daniel Sullivan), Best Female Principle (Lily Rabe), and Best Supporting Male (David Furr) for a lively production in the park. Comedian and banjo virtuoso Steve Martin also won Best Sound Design/Original Score for his original score of the production.

California Shakespeare Theater's production of Hamlet took home the award for Best Play, but the other exceptional nominees in that category included Alan Cumming's one-man Macbeth and the Public Theater's As You Like It.

This year's winners also include The Hollow Crown for Best Film or DVD. It was a visually sumptuous and well-acted four-part series directed by Sam Mendes for the BBC. Also recognized was Ralph Fiennes' modern war adaptation of Coriolanus.

The Falstaff Awards honor the release of The Shakespeare First Folios: A Descriptive Catalogue by Eric Rasmussen as the Best Book, Publication or Recording of 2012. Mr. Rasmussen and his team of "folio hunters" scoured the globe to compile the most exhaustive and detailed catalog of every known First Folio—the process of which was so fascinating that he wrote a second book, The Shakespeare Thefts, which was nominated in the same category. Ben Crystal was also nominated for his collaboration with the British Library titled Shakespeare's Original Pronunciation.

Of note is the Lear Award for Lifetime Achievement was awarded to Ian McKellen in recognition of his lifelong contribution to Shakespeare performance. McKellen, star of stage and screen, was a member of the Royal Shakespeare Company for many years and has tirelessly promoted the bard for many years. He is currently starring in a tour of No Man's Land with Patrick Stewart.

The complete list of nominees and winners can be found at:


Use Power Search to search the works

Log in or Register

Forgot username  Forgot password
Get the Shakespeare Pro app